Skip to main content

Allied Health Awards - Tickets On Sale

Keep up to date and plan ahead!

All the Allied Health conferences, forums, specialty groups, social events and special days or weeks to recognise – all in one handy spot!

Let us know if you have an event coming up that should be featured here… contact us…

 

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The why and how of electrical stimulation for the upper limb after stroke

April 6 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

StrokeEd Collaboration

Graphic credit to StrokeEd Collaboration

About this event

1-hr webinar – The why and how of electrical stimulation for the UL after stroke

About this event

Description: This lecture will give a brief overview of the evidence for electrical stimulation in UL rehabilitation after stroke, and discuss features of successful intervention protocols. The lecture will provide an overview of common applications of electrical stimulation, and a guide to the choice of parameters. Strategies for increasing the efficacy of electrical stimulation when eliciting a muscle contraction will be discussed.

Time: 6pm-7pm AEST

* London/ UK/ Ireland BST = 9am / Copenhagen = 10am / Brisbane = 6pm / Perth = 4pm / Adelaide = 5.30pm / Auckland = 8pm / Singapore = 4pm

Learning objectives: By the end of the presentation, attendees should be able to;

  • Outline the evidence for the use of ES in the UL after stroke
  • Discuss the applications of ES in the UL after stroke
  • Discuss the range of parameters used in ES
  • Outline strategies for trouble shooting when difficulties with ES are experienced

This 1-hr webinar will be presented by:ย Dr Simone Dorschย PhD BAppSci(Physio), MHlthSci,

Physiotherapist &ย Senior lecturer, Faculty of Health Sciences, Australian Catholic University, Sydney & Director, The StrokeEd Collaboration

(This lecture will be recorded and available via the StrokeEd website in late April)